Making History in Washington

This past weekend, history was made in Washington State without me even realizing it. Although there are girls hockey teams in the state, this past weekend was the first practice of the first ever full-time 8U and 10U all girls teams. This is an awesome big step for women’s hockey in the area, because it means that there are enough girls in those age groups that it warrants making a team for them! I currently have around 15 players on my time, mostly from the Seattle area, but some drive from even further away.


Only two practices in and I am so excited for the season to start. I’ve already received so many more hugs than I thought I would in the span of two days, and I hope the tradition of group hugs at the end of practices continues.

If there’s one thing that I am going to have to get used to quickly is how hoarse I’ll be feeling after every practice; it takes a lot of voice power to talk to 15+ 8 year olds for 2 hours.

Not only am I very excited to have officially started the season with the girls, but I am also so happy that I got to share this with my mom. She was still in town when we had our first practice and wanted to come out and spend a few hours at the rink, just like the good old days. The main difference this time around was that she was watching her daughter coach instead of stop pucks. It was the first time that my mom had ever seen me coach hockey, and I’ll be honest I was a little bit nervous at first. The good news is that once I get out on the ice, all of that goes away and I just do my thing. Same thing happened last year when she visited and came to watch one of the lacrosse games I was coaching; I started out a little nervous, but I quickly jumped into the role that I knew so well.

In two weeks it’ll be my dads turn to come and visit and see me in action. Every other time he’s seen me coach he’s been on the ice with me, but this time he’ll be watching from behind the glass, and probably on his phone, looking up every once in a while to make sure that I’m not completely embarrassing the Dion name.

So let’s keep making history in Washington.

Leave a Reply

