Glory Days

Right around six months ago, this happened:

It is the highlight of an unforgettable year on the sideline for the men’s hockey games. I can’t thank the crew at GoNUxstream enough for giving me the opportunities I’ve had over the past 4 years working for them, and trusting me not to mess this up.

It was the men’s hockey teams senior night, they were playing Maine, and there were about six minutes left in the first period. I was starting to think about who I was going to interview between periods, thinking it should be a senior because it’s their night, and then Kevin Roy, the captain, scores. Without giving it a second thought, I immediately contact the producers upstairs and tell them “I’m interviewing Kevin Roy, and I’m gonna do it in French. I’m gonna ask him two questions and then I’ll translate them.” I could almost hear the entire production room look around, as if to say “what?” and then Dylan, our director, said “ok, we’re gonna do it.”

That was all I needed. Immediately I called my dad, and asked him to make sure that I was using the right words and phrases. He texted me the questions 30 seconds before going on air.

If you want to know what happened next, just watch the video.

I’ll go on record to say that that was the first time any college broadcast did a live interview with a player in said players native tongue, and then was able to translate it back. I made history in my own way, and I still get chills thinking about it. That was also my senior night on the sideline, and the crew made sure that it was an amazing one. If you go back and rewatch the game on GoNUxstream.com, you can see my personal “highlight” reel, which is just a bunch of outtakes from an earlier game. I love that crew and I miss it every day.

Fall season has just started back in Boston; women’s soccer opened up the season this past weekend. I can’t wait to go back and see how everyone is doing, and who knows, maybe I’ll make another appearance on the sideline or behind the mic for a quick interview!

I’ll be watching along, cheering for my school, my friends, and my teammates. Let’s get this season started.

 

Leave a Reply

