Paddleboarding

This past weekend I tried something I never thought I would be able to do: stand up paddle boarding.

For weeks now, I’d seen countless people out on the lake with their paddle boards standing on the water, and I was always too afraid to try it for myself, but with my brother here, I got the courage. We went over to Agua Verde, rented 2 paddle boards, and went out on the water.You start off on your knees, which is fine for the first 10 minutes until you realize how painful it is. The further we went, the more I saw people stand up on their paddle boards, but I was still pretty afraid to, mainly because I thought I was going to fall off with all of the wakes coming from the boats that kept passing us. Henrik got up, and then almost immediately fell into the water. I laughed and then thought to myself that “it couldn’t be that bad”, so I tried to stand up and low and behold, I was pretty good at it.
I could keep my balance pretty well, regardless of if the wakes were coming by or not. I was feeling pretty confident, and gaining more space between me and my brother as I kept going forward, and he was struggling to keep up. That doesn’t happen too often, so when I turned around to see how far behind he was, I promptly fell into the water.

We both laughed a ton because it was just funny to fall in, and after I got back on the paddle board and fixed my hair, we kept going towards Gas Works. Eventually we turned around and headed back into shore. Final count was Paddle board 6, Team Dion 0.

We both fell into the water 3 times over the course of our excursion. On my second fall, I decided that instead of letting the water control how I went in, I decided to jump in as soon as I knew that I wouldn’t be able to regain my balance. This made the descent into the water my decision instead of the paddle boards.

All around, I had an awesome time, and I can’t wait to go out again. Maybe I’ll go enough times to merit actually purchasing one for myself!

Leave a Reply

