Some things stay the same

As I get older, a lot of people have been telling me that everything changes, and they’re not wrong. Everything does change: you change, your life, your family, your job, your passions; everything changes, and some things for the better.

But some things do stay the same. I recently had the chance to go back to Boston to see some of my best friends for a short weekend. Over the course of that 40 hours that I was on the east coast, I realized that many things change, but a lot of things stay the same.

Our friends may change and evolve, but we’ll always be friends.

Northeastern may add a few new buildings and make a few changes, but it will still always be the campus I called home for the five best years of my life.

We may change, but we still feel the same love for the community we built while in college.
When I decided I was going to be heading to Boston, I immediately texted everyone I knew I wanted to see, saying I would be in time for a limited time only. Then Mike did something incredible and created an official event, inviting all of my friends to one place for a one night get together. As soon as the invite went out, I got at least five text messages from friends who were just so excited that I was going to be in town for the weekend. When I landed in Boston I was greeted by my best friends Kristina and Sarah, and they even brought me Dunkin Donuts iced coffee and breakfast; what more could you ask for from your best friends. Even though all three of us are in different places for jobs and whatnot, we’ll always be best friends and be able to talk about everything that is currently going on, that happened in the past, and what could happen in the future. I was going to be staying at Mike’s for the weekend, so soon it was time to head over there so I could take a quick nap, shower, and get ready for the night ahead of me.

As soon as I walked up to the steps of 70 Calumet and was wrapped into Mike’s arms, I knew I’d made the right decision coming back; it just felt like home. I went up and saw Rob and of course had to do all of my usuals, which I completely didn’t mind. I desperately needed to lay down and rest after a long night of flying, so Mike and I took a quick nap, before I showered and got ready for the night. We all got dressed and headed over towards Fenway and Loretta’s, where Sarah, Kristina, and I were going to have our pre-game drink. We’d all been missing the classic moonshine infused drinks, and being back there was exactly what all three of us needed. Then all four of us (Mike, Kristina, Sarah, and I) walked over to Pour House, where the official event was being held.

I was absolutely amazed at how many people came out to see me; even friends who couldn’t make it texted me saying they wanted to meet up for coffee. I honestly can’t put into words what it means to me that so many of my friends wanted to come out and just hang out for a few hours on a Saturday night. I got to catch up with everyone, learn what they’re up to, and tell them all how much fun I was having in Seattle. It was just like we were all back in school and meeting at Conors or Punters for another night out.

Some things don’t change, and the love I feel for my friends never will.

One of my friends Mike Davis, who is in PA school in Rhode Island, took a last minute train all the way up from Providence to Boston, to see me (and his roommates Rob and Mike of course). Rob could’ve gone to another party, but declined because he wanted to see me. My friend Ryan took a break from his med school applications to come hang and have a beer with me. Everyone took time out of their weekends to spend time with me, and I feel so thankful that I have such amazing friends who would do that. Anytime any of them want to come to Seattle, they’ll always have a place to stay.

Some things don’t change, and I know that I’ll always have my friends that I can count on in any situation, no matter what.

Leave a Reply

