Ready, set, go!

In just about three weeks, I’m going to touchdown in Seattle, where I will be spending my foreseeable future working for Amazon. It’s a strange feeling, knowing that I’ll be out IMG_9188there working as an adult for at least a few years. This isn’t like going away to school when  you know that you’ll be home for the holidays, or your parents are only a drive away. Maybe it would feel that way if I was going to stay on the east coast, but 3,000 miles is something new.

One thing I am sure of though, is that I am ready; I am ready for this next challenge and whatever it’s going to bring.

IMG_8983

I will be honest that I am pretty heartbroken about having to leave my friends here. I know the goodbye is not forever, and that I will be back and seeing everyone again (hopefully)IMG_8557soon, but knowing that doesn’t make the goodbyes any easier. I have countless screenshots from friends saying “Don’t leave!” or any variation of that. Knowing that my friends are just as upset about me leaving as I am brings up all of the emotions, but I know, and they know, that I’m going to kill it out there, and have so many stories when I come back.

IMG_8884

Earlier today I was working out at Marino and I ran into one of my friends. We chatted for a bit, and he asked when I was leaving. Now that I’ve finally planned out my cross country roadtrip I have an answer that, so I told him. He told me that was too bad because I was going to miss the annual intramural get together. Then he said something that is gonna stick with me for a while; he said “you’ve left a legacy.” Going into something you never really think about what you’re leaving behind until you leave, and to have a work friend come up to me and say that I’ve set a standard for years to come means so much to me.

After the gym, I decided to take advantage of the beautiful weather and go for a walk all the way to Parsons Field where the baseball team was playing a matinee. When I get there i see all of my former GoNUxstream coworkers (and friends of course) and I hang out and chat with them for a while. Since the field is two miles away from my house, one of my good friends offered me a ride back. We talked about moving and what we’re doing over the next few weeks, and I admitted that as much as I was looking forward to moving away and doing something different, I am getting upset because I do not want to say goodbye. He then told me that “if there was anyone who I could picture moving cross country and kicking ass in a new place, and making a difference right away, you’d be one of the first people I would think about.” That was exactly what I needed to hear in that moment, and coming from my friend who I’ve worked a lot of games with over the past few years really means a lot.

IMG_9192

I love my friends, and those are just two examples of how lucky I am to have people like this in my life, and how hard it is for me to say goodbye to them. I am ready to head over to the west coast, and see what happens for however long I am out there. If you think I won’t come back to visit soon, you’re sorely mistaken; I will take as many opportunities as I can to head back to the east coast and see the people who make doing all the things I do so much fun.

 

Leave a Reply

