Last September of Classes

It has been a hectic few weeks here in Boston.
The past few weeks have seen the start of club hockey practices and games, a music festival, tour guide training, and my return to sidelining and commentating. All of this, in addition to everything I was already doing, and classes and homework, made September fly by. It was actually just yesterday that I realized that I will never again have a September where I am in classes, and that’s something that I can’t really fathom yet.

Club hockey has started and it’s great to be back on the ice and in the crease. We’re a closer knit team than we have been in the past, which is a welcome change. This past weekend we had our first two games, and it was a helluva way to jump right into the season. We lost both games by quite a bit, and I must have faced around 100 shots over the weekend, but it was great to be back in that game situation. I know this is my last season and that I won’t experience games like this again after I graduate, so I’m definitely making the most of it, at least as best as I can.

  
Two weekends ago, Boston Calling and it’s musical greatness came and took over City Hall. I had bought the tickets back in March before the lineup was announced and I was so happy that I had bought them that early. The lineup was fantastic and I saw all of the artists that I wanted. Highlights included Walk the Moon coming on stage to the Lion King’s “The Circle of Life”, and jumping up and down with the crowd during “Shut Up and Dance”. Also Hozier’s set was better than expected, especially since he capped it off with his hit single “Take me to Church”.

   
 Tour guide training is the next exciting thing that I have been up to. I applied to be a Husky Development Mentor, which means that I a) have a group of tour guides that are “mine” and that I was responsible for training b) I will be evaluating tour guides this fall on aspects of the tour and how they give it. Tour guide training is really important and I was there from the moment we started setting up to the moment I had to run to Matthews to commentate the Men’s Hockey game. My husky pack (group of tour guides) were solid. I had a ton of new tour guides so walking them through the tour and giving them some guidance was a lot of fun. I actually just found out that my group won the scavenger hunt that we played so we will all be getting free ice cream! I stressed this with my pack and I’m glad that our hard work was worth it.

  
Finally I’m back on camera. I sidelined the men’s hockey game vs Simon Fraser this past Sunday afternoon. It felt so good to be back, and I can’t wait for the rest of the season. Talking to the boys again between periods and being back in that red blazer (#redblazer) was so much fun. I also got a few compliments on my work; first one of the players dads came up to me after the game and told me that he thought I do a great job when I’m on camera. Knowing that they live far away and have to watch the games through the streams, that really means alot to me, and I hope that I’ve only gotten better during my eight month hiatus away from the camera. I also got a very appreciative smile from one of our french canadian hockey players, as I said “merci et bonne chance” when ending the interview. I could tell that made him happy and I’m looking forward to the next time I get to interview him. Stay on the lookout for a cool feature, and I will of course (hopefully) be writing something about it as well.

  
As busy as my life has been over the past few weeks, I’m absolutely enjoying every minute of it.

One thought on “Last September of Classes

  1. I can’t believe how fast September went by but loved reading your updates! I am a college athlete as well so I can’t even imagine what you are feeling as you are playing your last season! Enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

