Senior Status

This past Wednesday was my last first day of school, probably forever. It’s an interesting feeling, but at this point, I’m ready to get going into the semester. It’s always tough early on in the semester when you’re not deep enough in the material to know what to expect, and you’re just kindof going along without really knowing anything. My classes are definitely interesting, and I know that even though I don’t have to search for a coop, I am going to have a lot of work to do.

I remember bits and pieces from all of my years of school; here are a few highlights:

Freshman Year: going to my first Northeastern hockey game; sitting through that 8am class and working in group projects in all of my classes; being both the secretary for the Pep Band, and the librarian for the Concert Band; living in that corner room in Speare Hall.

Sophomore Year: applying for my first coop; taking my first marketing class (and being bored by it); calling my first womens hockey game as a color commentator; more pep band than I could handle; working my first semester for intramurals; giving a few of my first tours.

Middler Year: getting promoted to supervisor; being the only goalie on the club team and beating URI 2-1 when being outshot 45-20; cooping at IBM for six months; getting to be the goalie coach in Millbrook; coaching lacrosse for the first time.

Junior Year: working as a part-timer in the VC; playing broomball for the first time; going to see more concerts and baseball games while on coop than I thought possible; working at AWS for coop; putting on the red blazer for the first victory of the men’s hockey season; getting involved in the filming and editing of videos.

These are just a few of the highlights that I can think of at this moment. The past four years have been absolutely amazing and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I can’t wait to see what senior year has in store, and from everything that I have planned, it’s looking to be an awesome year.

Leave a comment