What’s field hockey?

For my first game back behind the microphone, I called the Field Hockey game yesterday as they faced off UMass. It was great to be back at it and I loved every minute of it.

I haven’t been done anything related to field hockey since my sophomore year of prep school, so the hardest part was just the terminology and making sure that I was saying the right things at the right time. Luckily, my color commentator played field hockey at Maine and had intimate knowledge of all the rules due to her previous experiences with the sport. I relied on her a lot when it came to the technical plays and the calls that were being made. Regardless, I got more confident as the game progressed and really felt like I was filling the shoes set by my predecessors well. Unfortunately the Huskies lost in OT, but it was still a fun game to watch. You can rewatch it on demand on the GoNUxstream website.

I pointed out that we kindof made history during that broadcast, as I believe it was the first ever time that a game was called by two female announcers. That’s definitely something cool to be a part of. Not only that, it was my first ever game as the Play by Play commentator; my past experience has been solely in color commentating, and I think that it showed a bit throughout the broadcast as I definitely did a lot of describing of the attitudes as well as describing the play.

My next game will be the Volleyball game on Tuesday September 6th. Tune in at 7pm EST on GoNUxstream if you’re interested in listening to me commentate a sport I know little about; it should be entertaining.

Leave a Reply

