Rain is a good thing

This has been the year of concerts for me; specifically country concerts.

To date, I have been to the following concerts:

  • Kip Moore (who I will be seeing again at the House of Blues in October!)
  • Maroon 5 and Magic! (third time was even better than the first two)
  • Vance Joy (so dreamy, so good)
  • Eric Church and Brothers Osborne (where Eric played for two hours straight)
  • Luke Bryan, Randy Houser, and Dustin Lynch (Randy stole the show)
  • Zac Brown Band (one of the coolest concerts and concert venues I’ve been to)

And I still have two major concerts on the ticket:

  • Kenny Chesney, Jason Aldean, Cole Swindell, and Brantley Gilbert at Gillette stadium for Country Fest
  • Florida Georgia Line, Frankie Ballard, and Thomas Rhett

Last weekend when I got home, I decided to add one more to the list: Sam Hunt, Hunter Hayes, and Lady Antebellum.

Last year after Dancing Bear camp ended, Hank and I went to see Luke Bryan, Lee Brice, and Cole Swindell at SPAC up in Saratoga. I wanted to do something similar this year because it’s a fun way for us to have some sibling bonding time after a long week of watching over kids on the ice. On top of that, Sam Hunt was the one artist I wanted to see this year. With the lineup that I currently have, he would complete country music Bingo, if there was such a thing. It was truly a bonus that I was also able to see Hunter Hayes (who I had seen at the House of Blues last fall), and Lady Antebellum. So in a split second decision, I bought myself, my brother, and his friend, all tickets, and it was definitely worth the hassle of getting to Hartford.

Because there was no way in hell I was going to miss Sam Hunt, I got there early, parked about a half mile away, and walked to the Xfinity Theatre. I posted up on the lawn and sang at the top of my lungs when Sam started playing. He was definitely one of the most well received openers at any concert that I’ve been to. Everyone, especially all the girls, loved him and were singing and dancing all around me. Due to some traffic, my brother and his friend just missed him, but they found me just in time for Hunter Hayes. I already knew that Hunter was going to put on a great show; he kept jumping for instrument to instrument, never stopping once during the entire set. I knew most of the songs, and those I didn’t I still moved along to the music, only stopping to look around at all of the people dancing.

Lady A was truly amazing; their all such wonderful singers and they brought out both Sam Hunt and Hunter Hayes for a few of their songs, as well as a cover of Aerosmith’s “Walk This Way”. I had bought us lawn seats for the first time just to try it out, and it ended up being a great decision. It was a beautiful warm night, right up until it started pouring rain. We were absolutely soaked in a mater of minutes and while most of the crowd started running back to their cars, we kept dancing and jamming along to all of their songs.

The concert ended after Lady A played their most famous song: “Need You Now”.

With that, the concert was over, and while it was still raining, I walked the half mile back to the car. Being at a concert, and getting soaking wet and still dancing and jumping along was a ton of fun, especially since we wouldn’t have known any of that was happening if we had bought seats under the roof. As I drove up to Boston I was blasting even more country music and eating dinner, which was my annual McDonald’s burger and fries. Sometimes theres nothing better than eating a McD’s burger and sipping on a Coke at 11:45pm while driving home from a country concert.

Leave a Reply

