Jump Right In

I’d be lying if I said it hasn’t been a busy few weeks in Boston and at home for me.

My daily routine looks pretty much the same: wake up, go work at the visitor center for 6-8 hours, maybe give a tour, go home and change, head back out and either workout with the D1 S&C coaches, or work at Intramurals for a few hours. I don’t have too much down time, and to be honest, I don’t know what I would do if I had more down time.

Checking in families at the VC and giving tours is a ton of fun because I’m constantly talking to people, answering their questions, helping them figure out if Northeastern is the right fit for them, and just constantly smiling and laughing because the staff cracks me up all the time. It’s also fun to be able to talk about my experiences and what I’ve done and see the kids faces as I tell them I managed millions of dollars, and made a lot of money, and worked for giant companies like AWS and IBM. Hopefully they think about what I’ve done and realize that that’s just scratching the surface of what they’ll be able to do once they get here. I will also say, it’s getting to be weird talking to high schoolers who won’t even be enrolling until after I graduate….man, I’m getting old.

Intramurals is the same as always; since I’ve known them the longest, I know the routine, it feels comfortable, and thanks to all of the new hires I’m always meeting new people. I’m excited for the fall to start though so I can get out of supervising silly sports like soccer and wiffleball, and get back inside Matthews.

Summers in Boston have never been boring; this is my third one and I don’t think I’ve ever done the same thing two summers in a row. Since I’m not in classes this summer, it’s quite relaxing to just be on campus and able to hang out without the stress of thinking about homework or coop hunting (I’m not going to start job hunting until September when I have a better idea of what I’m looking for). Back in March, I bought myself and my friends tickets to see the Zac Brown Band at Fenway Park. After two summers of missing a concert series at Fenway, I wasn’t going to let another one pass without getting that experience. It was definitely one of the highlights of the summer.

Disclaimer: I hate the Red Sox. It’s not a secret, I’m a Yankees fan. However it seems as though no one expects my Yankee fandom, either because I don’t ever watch baseball, or because I just don’t care enough to make a point out of it. Either way, seeing the Red Sox is one of my least favorite things, especially at Fenway Park. ZBB totally changed everything I had ever thought about Fenway.

Rachel and I pre-ZBB at Fenway Park

It was so cool to be there during a time when everyone is just there to enjoy themselves and sing along loudly to songs, instead of cheering against the opposing team. Plus the view was pretty epic: the stage was right at center field, and our seats were directly across from it. This meant we could see not only the stage perfectly, but also the Boston skyline. It was quite a sight. It’s been 24 hours since the concert and I’m still singing all of their songs. Like most artists do these days, they covered a few songs over the course of their concert. They sang Neil Diamond’s Sweet Caroline, which if you don’t know, is the song they sing during the 7th inning stretch at Sox games. They also covered Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody, and Metallica’s Enter Sandman.

I am so incredibly happy that I bought those tickets for us to see ZBB. They were absolutely amazing, and listening to them perform live gave me a new love for their music. Their latest album Jekyll + Hyde has so many great tracks on it, one of my new favorites being Beautiful Drug: 

.

To be fair, all of their songs were great, and the entire band brought out a whole new sound I wasn’t expecting.

With only about a month left until the fall semester starts, it’s time to savor every last bit of summer than I can. It’s going by way too fast for my liking.

One thought on “Jump Right In

Leave a Reply

