QAQS on 3

A year ago I said goodbye to the first team that I ever coached, the 7/8 grade Arlington Admirals. Saying goodbye to them was difficult, but I knew that if I wanted to, I could see them again. Then last summer, I had to say goodbye to my second team, the 2017 Dutchess Monarchs. Again, I knew that I could come back and see them all if I wanted to, so it was more of a “see you later” than a goodbye. Another lacrosse season has come to close, and once again, I had to say goodbye to the 18 girls that I coached for the past three months. This time is not like the others.

I knew my time in Seattle was going to be short, but I was determined to continue doing what I love during my spare time, which is coaching. Hockey seemed out of the question since the closest rink was 11 miles away, so I started looked once again at what the options were to coach girls lacrosse in the area. I found this club that practiced twice a week and had a 10 game schedule where all the games were on weekends. I had found my team, the Queen Anne Quick Styx U-15 Gold team.

For three months I took bus 13 up Queen Anne Hill to the bowl on Mondays and Wednesdays for practice.

The season ended just like it began, with a jamboree. Thinking back to that first time all the girls stepped on the field, some of them for the very first time, and to know the progress they made is amazing. I can’t say enough how incredibly proud I am of how much the girls have improved over the past 12 weeks. Some of them couldn’t catch or cradle, and by the end of the season, everyone could run with the ball up and down the field without getting it checked out of their sticks.

The reward of coaching is really simple: helping your players reach their full potential. It’s honestly my favorite part about working with athletes, is seeing how far they can push themselves in order to be as good as they can be.

I’m really going to miss all of my QAQS girls. I honestly don’t know what I would have done if I didn’t have to go to the QUeen Anne Bowl twice a week, and come up with practice plans during my lunch hour. I think that’s part of the reason why it’s taken me so long to write this, because the end of lacrosse season means the end of coop, and with it the end of Seattle. I’ve built a life for myself here and it will be really hard to leave it. Don’t get me wrong, I am definitely looking forward to heading back to school for another year, but I will truly and deeply miss my life here.

All together now: QAQS on 3!

Leave a Reply

