The small victories

For the past two months, I have been taking hot yoga classes three to four times per week. I’ve been taking a combination of Hot Power Fusion (HPF), which is the hottest class, and C2, the more challenging class move and flow wise. Because the classes are so hot, most of the women who take it wear only a sports bra on top, and then their yoga pants on the bottom.

Today I made a the decision to join them.

It doesn’t sound like a major decision, just take off your shirt, no one will care, but it’s given me such a great sense of relief, enough that I want to write about it. Like all women, I worry about my body and how I look. I’ve been working hard to get to a place where I feel happy with myself, without the help of looking at a scale. Personally, I find scales to be counterproductive to progress because it gets you fixated on a number, instead of a state of mind. Yes, it’s important to be at a healthy weight, and depending on what your workout goals are, that could be an important part of your road to progress. For my brother, being at an ideal weight is crucial for him to be successful at the next level of hockey. But for me, it’s all about the mental state. Yes, my goal is to be in great shape, but I also want to feel good about me, no matter where I am at.

So doing hot yoga in only a sports bra was a small step towards that. Being able to confidently sweat and work and pose along with everyone else, and also feel proud about the progress that I’ve made is huge.
I love where I’m headed, and I can’t wait to see the finished product.

Leave a Reply

