Take me out to the ball game

I haven’t been to a baseball game since the summer of 2013, when I went to a Red Sox game at Fenway. Before that, I can’t remember when my last ball game was. We were never that into baseball, and the high costs of tickets, accompanied with the long travel time meant that we didn’t really go to games. I’m a Yankee fan, but I haven’t been to a game since the New Stadium was built; the tickets are through the roof. I remember going to a Montreal Expos game back in the day and getting one of those ice cream baseball hats. Today I added another ballpark to my list: Safeco Field.

Last Friday I was browsing StubHub and SeatGeek looking for tickets to games, and I spontaneously decided to buy a $6 ticket to today’s Mariners game. With the high costs of food and beverages, a $6 ticket is a steal in any park, so I couldn’t say no. Today was the most beautiful day that we’ve had in Seattle since I got here; it was sunny all day without a cloud in sight, and it got as warm as 70 degrees. I was so pumped to get to the game, and I left lacrosse practice a bit early so I could make the game. I took the bus and got to the field at the top of the 2nd, and it was 1-0 Astros.

Safeco Field
Safeco Field

As soon as I got in I situated myself to the field, and figured out where I was supposed to sit. Now I say supposed to sit because the stadium was pretty much empty and I had the choice of sitting in whatever seat I wanted to. I started off behind the away bench by third base, about 15 rows from the field. Then I moved upstairs to see how the view was and made my way around left field to right field. It wouldn’t have been a baseball game unless I got myself a hot dog. Definitely the most delicious decision I made all night.

Right around the 6th inning I decided to head back downstairs for the remainder of the game. I went and sat right next to the right field foul post and watched most of the remainder. My final seat hop was to the very front row, I could have reached over and touched the dirt if I wanted to. Still in the outfield, but I was right there. I don’t think I would ever get seats that good again, and they were entirely on accident. The Mariners ended up losing 6-5, but it was still a ton of fun and I am so happy that I went. This was another one of those things that I decided to do by myself, and I am so happy I did. Good things have been happening whenever I do something by myself. When I took a long walk up Queen Anne, I found an awesome coffee shop that I love going back to. Back when I saw Kip Moore, I won backstage passes to see him (swoon). I had a blast singing along to every single song Maroon 5 played. I’ll be going to more things by myself, but I can’t wait to share some of the things I’ve learned with the people I end up bringing with me.

Not a bad view
Go Mariners
One thought on “Take me out to the ball game

Leave a Reply

