Getting back into photography

For the first two months that I was in Seattle I was without my Nikon D3100 and my Contour. That meant that the only way that I could capture my adventures was with my iPhone 6. Not that that’s a bad thing, because my iPhone takes some great pictures, but I missed being able to edit and take some more artistic pictures.

This past weekend during my Easter morning stroll, I finally had the chance to take some more of those artsy pictures. Being able to come back home and spend time editing the pictures relaxed me so much. Photography is one of those things that I’ve always been interested in, I love being able to frame a shot just how I want it. One of my favorite things to take pictures of is people, especially in candid moments. Catching those smiles, looks, and gestures that we make everyday without even thinking about it shows the world who we really are.

My brother took a shot of me on one of our hikes when we were visiting. I like it a lot because I’m in mid motion, and it looks like I’m dancing. I was probably talking the entire time that he was taking the picture and just doing my own thing. Taking pictures is fun, I don’t think that I’m particularly good at it, but if I like the outcome, that’s all that matters.

Getting back into picture taking makes me excited to keep exploring Seattle. It gives me a reason to walk around the many neighborhoods, and find something unique and different that I would not have found otherwise. Do your thing, and make it awesome.

A dancing AM by Carbon RIver
A dancing AM by Carbon RIver
Leave a Reply

