A different point of view

Happy Easter to you all.

Last night when I got back from the Sounders game, I knew that I wanted to wake up early and spend the morning walking around town; and that’s exactly what I did.

I woke up, cooked some bacon, and began my Easter morning stroll at 1015. I had brought my camera(s) with me because it has been MUCH too long of a time since I’d taken a photo walk. As I started walking I immediately started taking pictures of all of the flowers that were blooming down the street.

Easter-3
Blooming pink trees on Dexter Ave
Wonderful color palette for Easter
Wonderful color palette for Easter

One of the things that I’ve realized during the past few months in Seattle, is that Queen Anne is my favorite district within the city. There are actual houses, yards, and cars, the views are fantastic, and the strip of Queen Anne Ave has some awesome spots that I still need to check out. Given all of that, Queen Anne is also one of the most expensive neighborhoods. As one of my fellow lacrosse coaches told me “in Seattle, you pay for the view”, and Queen Anne has the best views. I couldn’t help but to wander around the side streets, looking at all of the beautiful houses, both old and new. I also stumbled upon a classic old Saab, an aged green Volvo, and a sturdy and regal Studabaker.

One of the many beautiful houses on Queen Anne
One of the many beautiful houses on Queen Anne
Old School Studabaker
Old School Studabaker

After an hour or so of wandering, I had reached the top of Queen Anne. My original plan had been to find a brunch place once I’d reached the top, but I wasn’t hungry enough for brunch, so instead I decided to find a small local coffee shop and try something different. Google gave me the names of some of the local joints, and I kept walking in search for one that looked interested. A bit further down Queen Anne Ave, and I found El Diablo Coffee Company, a mexican/cuban inspired coffee shop. I went in and ordered a “Mexican Mocha”, and it was delicious.

El Diablo Coffee Shop
El Diablo Coffee Shop
Mexican Mocha
Mexican Mocha

I sat outside and enjoyed the view, the people, and the coffee, and decided that I would head into the Queen Anne Bookstore, which was right next door. Reading is one of those things that I want to do, but for some reason can never bring myself to do. There are so many books on my reading list, but with everything going on around work, lacrosse, working out, and yoga, coming home I just want to lay in bed, turn on the TV, and fall asleep. I am glad I found that bookstore though, because I feel like it is one of those places where you get to know the owner, they recommend books for you, and keep books on hold if they think you’ll like them. I’ve already said it and I’ll say it again, I love Queen Anne. Small town in a big city. I deliberated buying a few books, but decided to hold off for now. Hopefully I’ll be able to head back next weekend and buy something good. My next stop is Kerry Park. I’ve already been, but the views are always worth it.

After a long week of work, a long lonely walk is exactly what I needed. Taking the time to myself to take in the beauty that’s around the city. It also gives me a chance to think about life after coop, and even after college. There are a lot of opportunities available to me because of all of the coops I’ve worked. Coming back to the west coast after I graduate is definitely an option now, and exploring the city more makes me excited for the possibility. There are a lot of things that I could do, and that’s the wonderful thing about where I am right now: everything is ahead of me, and the future looks bright.

Leave a Reply

