I won’t say goodbye anymore

Like I mentioned in my last blog post about my hike to Annette Lake, I had bought a ticket to see Maroon 5 at the Tacoma Dome. This would be my third time seeing Maroon 5 in concert, and I was so ready to see my favorite band perform once again.

Maroon 5 has been my favorite band for a long time. I fell in love with them when they released their second album “It Won’t be Soon Before Long“, which featured some of my favorite songs, like If I Never See Your Face Again, Wake Up Call, and Makes Me Wonder. I was immediately hooked. Once I got hooked on the album, I started going back in time to their first album, “Songs About Jane“, which features so many great hits, Sunday Morning, Harder to Breathe, This Love, and She Will Be Loved.

It Won’t Be Soon Before Long was released in 2007, and in 2009, they were going on tour, and I asked my parents if we could all go and see them. in August 2009, my entire family drove the two hours up to SPAC, and my brother and I got to experience our first concert. I think Maroon 5 will always be special to me because of that; my very first concert, and it was one to remember. Sara Bareilles opened for them, back when she was still unknown, and the Counting Crows ended the show. We left after Maroon 5, as we were all tired, and a bit underwhelmed by the Counting Crows.

One of the best parts of this show for me, was that my entire family, including my dad, loved the show. It made me even happier that we had all driven up to see them, because everyone had had a great time.

In 2010, they released their third album, “Hands All Over“, which is probably my personal favorite out of all of them. It features so many hits, like Misery, Never Gonna Leave This Bed, Stutter, and Runaway. That was also the year of the release of one of their most popular songs, Moves Like Jagger.

In 2011, they were back on tour, and I once again asked if we could go and see them at SPAC. This time, they were playing with Gavin DeGraw, and Train, two artists that we knew we all liked. This was one of the most entertaining shows I’ve ever been to, as they opened the show with Moves Like Jagger. The show was fantastic and the energy that was pulsing throughout the venue was fantastic. I have the concert shirt from that season and I still wear it often. Out of the three Maroon 5 concerts, this was probably the overall best one, due to how awesome Train’s performance was following Maroon 5. You’re not likely to forget hearing 15,000 people singing along to Drops of Jupiter.

It took me four years to see them again, but I finally made it. They released “Overexposed” in 2012, and “V“, meaning that they had a ton of brand new songs to add to the mix. I personally think that Overexposed is their weakest album to date. I’m not sure what happened, but they moved away from what makes them so awesome as a band, and fell a bit flat. V is a great answer to that fall, and is one of their best overall albums. On the drive down, I started thinking back to the last time I saw them live, and what songs I was hoping to hear, needless to say I was not disappointed.

Their opener was Magic!, the band that created last years summer single Rude. They played a pretty good half hour set, but knew they couldn’t compete with what was coming next.

Finally, after about a half hour wait, the lights dimmed, and the drums started playing. The entire crowd immediately stood up, and suddenly the arena erupted as Adam Levine started belting out the lyrics to Animals. It was amazing to be able to see them again, just as good, if not better than the last time I saw them. I knew the words to every song, even those that I hadn’t listened to for a few years. My favorite moment has to be their encore, where they opened with an acoustic version of She Will Be Loved, transitioned into an uptempo Moves Like Jagger, and finished with the latest favorite, Sugar.

I could not stop smiling the entire time, and as I was driving home, I was still jamming to their songs. I woke up a bit hoarse on Sunday, but if I hadn’t I would have been disappointed in myself. Going to that concert was absolutely amazing, and I am so glad that I went. That was the second concert that I’ve gone to by myself this year, the first being Kip Moore back in January. I’ll restate what I did back then, doing things by yourself is awesome. Adventure on your own because it’s pretty great to be able to do what you want, when you want.

2 thoughts on “I won’t say goodbye anymore

Leave a Reply

