Annette Lake is pretty cool

About a week ago, I bought myself a ticket to go see Maroon 5 in concert. Knowing that I was probably going to rent a car to get down to Tacoma where the concert was, I figured I’d plan out a trip around the concert, so that I wouldn’t be paying all of that money just to go and see my favorite band perform. Two of the other coops and I decided to go hiking on Saturday afternoon. Before the weekend started, we had decided that we were going to tackle Gothic Basin, a tough hike that was about an hour and a half away. Since I wanted to be back in time to shower and have dinner before leaving for the concert, we decided to quickly look for other options, and found Annette Lake in the Snoqualmie Falls region. At noon, we were parked, and had begun our ascent to the lake. We walked past some absolutely beautiful scenery on the way to our destination. Everything from snow covered mountains, to mossy trees, and babbling creeks; it was definitely a hike to remember. My Bean Boots got a good workout, and they are still completely covered in mud. I will be spending time to try and clean them later this week.

One of the many babbling creeks on our long hike to the lake
One of the many babbling creeks on our long hike to the lake
What can I say, I like signs.
What can I say, I like signs.
Met a lot of furry friends along the trail
Met a lot of furry friends along the trail
Our final destination: Annette Lake. Beautiful blue water, and dark green trees.
Our final destination: Annette Lake. Beautiful blue water, and dark green trees.
My Bean Boots got a ton of work
My Bean Boots got a ton of work

As we made our way back to the car, we started talking about the different hikes we’ve done, and how to rank them in terms of difficulty. We all agreed that the Annette Lake trail is relatively easy: there’s a bit of an incline, but it’s not that steep, it’s just a long hike. However, it’s overall one of the prettiest hikes due to the scenery that surrounds you the entire way. Yes, it’s a long hike, but it’s one of those hikes that is going to be different every time. This is also one of those hikes to put on your list for when relatives come into town. You drive far enough into the Cascades that you get to see some awesome trees, and you also get to experience the outdoors in the Pacific Northwest. So take a long walk, explore something different, and capture the moment. You’ll be so glad you did.

Leave a Reply

