A week with Hank

Last Tuesday, my little brother landed in Seattle at 11pm. This morning, he took off at 7am on his way to New York. We just spent six days together, just the two of us; I don’t think we’ve ever done that for such an extended period of time. We accomplished so much during those six days; we hiked up Poo Poo Point, walked around Downtown Seattle for six hours, and then we spent all of Sunday driving around the Cascades and Mount Rainier National Park. If that’s not a successful couple of days, then I don’t know what is.

Besides our adventuring in and around Seattle, we also went out to lunch every day. For me, it was a nice break from work; I was able to relax and talk to someone who really knows me for an hour. Now Hank is a creature of habit, and every day, we went to the same restaurant for lunch: Petra’s. It’s one of my favorite places for lunch, but I really didn’t expect to eat there four times in the span of six days. For anyone visiting Seattle, I highly recommend it, especially if you like Mediterranean food.

Widely known fact: Hank’s hidden talent is being a grill master. I don’t know how he picked it up, but he is really good on a grill. I was lucky enough to enjoy many different meals prepared by my little brother, including delicious steaks (twice), and my favorite, half-pound burgers. They’re juicy and delicious and I would eat them every day if I could. One thing that did happen during the week is that my room became an absolute mess…his suitcase literally exploded upon arriving at my apartment. Good news for me is that he did a decent job cleaning up after himself when he left (plus the maid comes today (yes, a maid comes every other week to clean my apartment)).  

Just one of the delicious meals Hank made me
  pending so much time with my little brother has made me realize a few things. Here are six things I learned, one for each day that my brother was here:

  1. Now that we’re both older, we don’t fight as often, and we know when to let things go. Don’t get me wrong, we still like to push each others buttons, but we know when enough is enough, and when it’s time to be the bigger man/woman, and just let it go.
  2. We can make each other laugh, a lot. Hank is probably the only person that can make me laugh no matter what. His stories are so random and funny, and the way he tells them makes me laugh all the time. One of the highlights of this past week was when he was just walking around by himself, wearing his Nike shorts and Under Armour sweater, and people would go out of their way to ask him if he played sports. I feel like this isn’t a normal thing to ask people, and it makes it funnier because it’s my little brother.
  3. We can be serious with each other and talk about anything. When we need to be serious with each other, we are. We will always listen to what the other person has to say and give advice when needed. We support each other no matter what happens.
  4. I’m officially the adult now. I mean yes, I have a real job, and I have to wake up early every day, while he gets to sleep in, but I’ve also taken more responsibility overall. When we had to return the rental cars, I did it by myself, figuring out how to get there and how to get back. When we walk around the streets, or stores, or restaurants, I usually take charge because a. I know where I’m going, and b. I’m the adult.
  5. We can have fun together. From just hanging out in my apartment and watching a movie, to going on a hike up Tiger Mountain, we know how to make it as fun for the two of us as possible.
  6. Even though he’s a pain in my ass sometimes, I love him. He’s an awesome little brother and I don’t know what I would do without him.

I don’t know when I’ll see him next, but it probably won’t be until his high school graduation in June. That’s a little over two months away. I think getting to spend a week together was just what both of us needed. Hank was able to explore new things by himself during the days while I was at work, and I had company in my apartment and a buddy to adventure with.

Find your adventure buddy, and don’t lose them, because they’re usually pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

