#NUMadness

Husky Pride is Husky Pride, no matter what team you’re rooting for.

For the first time in 24 years, the Northeastern men’s basketball team is going dancing, into the NCAA tournament that is. They will be playing the Notre Dame Fighting Irish in the first round of the tournament. The Huskies are seeded at 14th, while Notre Dame is in 3rd.

Notre Dame, we’re coming for you.

That’s exactly what I tweeted out on Sunday when I found out our opponent. Even though I haven’t been to a men’s basketball game all year, what with working like a dog all fall and being in Seattle in the spring, I’m still rooting for my Huskies. The team has had its ups and downs, but they’ve come through big in the CAA tournament, beating William & Mary in the Championship to punch their ticket to NCAAs. They’re going dancing with the big boys.

Being a part of something like this while currently in school is pretty awesome; it’s a historic event in our athletic history. If we advance to the next round, it will be the first time since the Reggie Lewis era that we’ve done so. The better our boys do, the more it benefits the University, therefore the more is benefits the fans and students (like me).
I’m also so proud of my pep banders for killing it during the tournament, and I know that they’re going to step it up to a new level in Pittsburgh. Not only are we putting our basketball program on the map, but we’re putting our school on the map. Yes, of course I wish this was happening to our hockey team instead, but like I said, Husky Pride is Husky Pride. I bleed red and black, and I know that all of my peers do too. Husky Pride brings us together, it gives us something to fight and cheer for that is bigger than ourselves. We’ve been waiting a long time, and now we’re ready.

Just think, the last time the Huskies went dancing was in 1991; most of the students currently at Northeastern hadn’t even been born yet. This is a once in a generation event, and now it’s our time.

One of the journalists at Northeastern asked if I would be willing to speak to him for an interview tomorrow. The article should come out by the end of the week, and I will definitely make sure to keep everyone updated by posting it.

Husky Pride is Husky Pride.

Leave a Reply

