Make sure you bring a towel

I decided to do something a bit different last week and sign up for a free week trial at Core Power Yoga. What makes Core Power Yoga so different? It’s hot yoga.

I’ve taken a few yoga classes in the past, nothing too official, just through some group fitness classes at my local gym. To be honest, I never really liked them that much; I never felt like I was working too hard, and the classes never gave me that “ahhh” feeling. Hot yoga has given me a new perspective on yoga.

So you step into the class and lay your mat down. The room is set to a toasty 95 degrees. You lay down and wait for the instructor to walk in and class to start. Make sure you bring a towel, it’s about to get slippery.

You start working through the movements and feeling your body and your muscles move, and then all of a sudden, a bead of sweat drops from your forehead to the mat. You look down at your arms and see that you are actually covered in beads of sweat. Pretty soon your feet are slipping on the mat because they’re absolutely soaked. What did I say about that towel?

It’s finally time for a little bit of a break before moving into some core work. Make sure you’re hydrating. Finally, after what seems like an eternity, you move into savasana, which translates into lay on your back and fall asleep. It is hotter than ever in the room, but exposing your whole body to the room is cooling you off. After a few minutes the instructor calls you back to reality and ends class.

I love to sweat, it’s one of my favorite things in the world. It’s not a workout unless I’m sweating. I haven’t sweat that much since hockey season, and boy does it feel good. In my mind there is no better way to release the toxins from your body than by sweating them out.

My free week expires on Thursday; I have yet to decide if I want to continue with a paid membership or not. It’s a bit expensive, but it’s something that makes me feel so good as soon as I finish, and I am a firm believer in doing things that you enjoy, no matter how much they cost. I would never have gotten to meet Kip Moore if I hadn’t decided to go to the concert by myself, because I love country music.

Find something you enjoy and keep doing it, but most importantly, find the thing that helps you get that “ahhh” moment. Whether it be going on long runs, hiking, kayaking, lifting, or yoga, find that in your life and do it. Nothing feels better than knowing that you’ve done something good for you and your health.

Seek out the “ahhh” moment, and don’t be surprised if you need a towel.

Leave a Reply

