When you’re on top of the world…

When you’re on top of the world, the climb doesn’t seem so bad. Getting there is difficult, but the destination is worth it. Many people say that it isn’t the destination that matters, and that’s it all about the journey, which is true, but the destination pushes you to move forward and tackle the obstacles because in the end, you know it’s going to be worth it.

Today, our coop troop decided to drive out to Snoqualmie Falls. Once we got there, we were greeted by a lot of people and a beautiful waterfall, but it wasn’t exactly what we expected.

snoqualmie

The reason we were slightly disappointed was because we were expecting more of a hike to get to the waterfall, but it was just about 30 feet from the parking lot, not too much of a challenge. One of the other coops had done some research and suggested we head to a nearby mountain, called Rattlesnake Ledge. It was gonna be a four mile hike, and after a short and underwhelming 50 feet of walking, we were ready for a challenge.

As we started hiking, we were surrounded by a ton of people, both heading down and up the mountain. One of my favorite parts of any hike is when you get to glimpse some of the views that the peak will have to offer; being able to look out and see the trees get smaller as you’re climbing higher motivates me to keep going. We reached the top after a little over an hour of walking (to be honest, I’m not really sure how long it was since I wasn’t keeping track…felt like an hour+ though). Once we got there, we were immediately in awe of what we saw.

rattlesnake2
Mount Si for the peak of Rattlesnake Ledge
rattlesnake3
Looking out west onto the vast mountains of Washington State

The pictures really can’t do the view justice. It was incredible to feel like we were on top of the world and just looking out over the state of Washington. I’ve realized that I feel that way once I reach the top of every mountain I hike, but I hope it’s a feeling that never goes away. I love being able to look out and think “what a beautiful world we live in”; and it’s even better if I can get a sweat in while doing so.

This was also the first time that I’d been out in nature since I’ve arrived in Seattle, so for me, being able to head out and hike the mountain was so freeing. Breathing the fresh air, feeling the leaves against my jacket, skipping rocks on lakes, little things like that are what, I think, everyone needs to stay sane in the crazy world we live in now. I’m going to look into getting a zipcar account or something so that I can take more of these adventures. Being able to escape the city and just drive by myself is something that I love doing; the freedom of controlling my environment and where I’m going is something I need in life. Driving settles me and allows for me to be in complete control of where I’m going, and when I’ll get there. That’s not a luxury that many of us can have, and it’s something that I’m not going to take for granted.

To come full circle, I’m glad that that was my first hike of 2015. I’d rate it a solid 6/10, which is a good place to start, especially if you haven’t hiked in a while. Breaking a little bit of a sweat is never a bad thing, and I can’t wait to get the next trail and work even harder to get to where I’m going. The journey matters, but the destination makes it worth it.

One of my goals when I’m out here is to hike at least five mountains; one down, hundreds more to go.

Leave a Reply

