Seattle in a week

So I’ve been in Seattle a whole week. And so much has happened in that week and I cannot wait to share it with you.

Public market1

So let’s start with the picture, since you’re probably wondering what/where that is if you’re not from Seattle. Well that is the Pike Place Market, at Pier 59. It is the largest Farmer’s Market in Seattle and it is open almost every single day of the year. Today was the second time this week that I went there, and it’d definitely a very big touristy area. I love walking through and seeing all of the different things that people have sold, but today, I found a real gem. Homemade greek yogurt. I got a whole tub of cranberry mixed greek yogurt from this small place, and I am so glad that I did. I’m thinking about going back every week and getting a tub with a new flavor.

Now, some other touristy things I did over the week, I did a lot of walking downtown and I found the original Starbucks that was founded in Seattle in 1971. I didn’t go in and buy anything, but I will definitely have to at some point over the next six months, because I don’t think I’d be able to say it was a successful trip to Seattle if I didn’t. I will be writing about when I go, so stay tuned.

original starbucks

But I have to say that the highlight of my week was by far experiencing the Seattle Seahawks playoff craziness on Saturday. First, a few of the other Northeastern co-ops and I went to Buffalo Wild Wings to watch the early morning Patriots game. I was also able to watch the Northeastern men’s hockey team battle BC at the same time thanks to the┬álarge selection of TV channels at BWW. Needless to say it was a great day for sports. Once the Pats game ended, we headed to a nearby bar where we met up with a few more of the co-ops, and man, the place was PACKED with Seahawks supporters. Every touchdown, the place erupted, and there were high-fives all around. I can only imagine that the atmosphere will get crazier and crazier the closer we get to the Superbowl. There’s a good chance that the Seahawks and the Pats will make it, in which case I don’t know who I’ll root for (I think it has to be the Seahawks because I’m here, but I’ll honestly be happy regardless of who wins). And yes, that is kind of a cop out, but that’s how I feel.

Most importantly though, I completed my first week as an Amazonian. I’m so ready to kill it.

amazon

Leave a Reply

