West Coast, New Coast

I have officially been on Seattle ground for 48 hours. Only 4334 more hours to go until my coop is over and I’m back on the East Coast.

Let me start off by saying that I am very excited to be here, and I’m looking forward to the new experience, but the east coast girl in me wants to jump in and get this going.

Something that I have been noticing is that everyone, and I mean everyone, is a rabid Seahawks fan. Maybe I’m just so used to all of the Pats, Red Sox, Bruins, and Celtics gear that people wear around Boston that I don’t notice it anymore, but the amount of people who I’ve seen wearing Seahawks jerseys in just the past two days is incredible.

So what have I done in the past 48 hours?

Well I moved into my apartment. It’s a very nice one bedroom studio in the True North complex, right in South Lake Union, which is an area in Seattle. There is an area called Beacon Hill, which is confusing to me because Beacon Hill belongs in Boston. Anyway, I’m very happy with my place, and it’s proximity to work is phenomenal.

FullSizeRender

On Sunday I thought it would be a good idea to take a walk around, make sure I knew where the building that I needed to report for my orientation this morning was, and buy some groceries and necessary items. I ended up talking a long walk downtown and stumbled upon the Seattle Public Market, which is the farmers market in Seattle, open 362 days a year. I couldn’t believe I found it and I bought a good helping of fresh vegetables which I can’t wait to finish up this week. I also stopped by the closest grocery store, Whole Foods, on my way home to buy some remaining items.

IMG_3868

The last thing I did was start my first day of coop at Amazon. I’m working on the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Team, and after one day, I know that there is going to be a ton of work, but that it is going to be good work. I can definitely get used to the culture of Amazon, and can’t wait to get started on some real projects.

I of course have to mention the fact that CANADA beat Russia in the World Junior Championship today in a bit of a nail biter. Go Canada Go.

Oh, one funny thing I forgot to mention, so our flight attendant on our flight started giving the standard “welcome to…, it’s currently…” speech as soon as we landed. She started off by saying, in her flight attendant voice, the following “Welcome to Albuquerque, New Mexico, the time is currently 9:57pm, and…” and then she caught herself and in her normal voice she said “oh my goodness, did I just say that? We are not in Albuquerque, we have landed in Seattle, I apologize for that folks”. Definitely a good way to start my six months in Seattle. Gave everyone a bit of a giggle before getting off the plane and moving on with whatever adventure is waiting for us.

I’ll be continuing to write about my experience out here on the west coast. Hopefully I’ll have plenty of adventures to write about. Til next time!

Leave a Reply

