Life of a commentator

“On October 3rd, he asked my what day it was. It’s October 3rd.”

Sorry, I just had to start with that. Happy Mean Girls Day to all.

Hockey season has officially started and I am so happy to be back under the headset commentating my favorite sport. Commentating is never something I thought that I would be able to do, but I am a more well-rounded person because of it. 

Typically, I am the color commentator during the womens hockey games. Because I played with so many of the players, and because I play hockey myself, my job is a lot easier. It’s a ton of fun doing research and really talking about something that you know and are confident about. This semester I’m really working to spread my knowledge around video production; I’m going to try my hand at being the sideline reporter for the men’s hockey games, which are much more high profile, and I’ve also started producing content that is going to be used during the games themselves.

This is also the first semester that I will actually be on camera; in the past, the Play by Play and color commentators have been strictly off camera, but starting now, we are going to have a greater presence to the audience. I will admit that I am a little bit nervous, but I’m also very excited to be doing something different. I’m also going to be working with many different people on camera, so it will force me to adjust my commentating on the fly in order to put on the best broadcast we possibly can.

The production of content is something new too. When the semester first started I had so many ideas on features that we could do to promote our athletic teams. We just filmed the content (yesterday!) for the “Get To Know Your Huskies” video feature, and hopefully I’ll be able to edit the content and have the features ready for this weekend.

The whole process of being able to try something new and learn new skills is awesome, and I can’t thank the GoNUxstream team enough to have given me the chances they have.

Leave a Reply

