August: The Sunday of Summer

This past week I saw a tumblr post (or something) and it just said that “August is the Sunday of Summer”.

I have to say I agree, but if you really think about Sundays, you’ll realize that they’re actually pretty awesome.

August is going to be a busy month for me, gearing up for the end of summer classes and the beginning of fall classes; and I couldn’t be more excited.

Let’s walk through the month of August, shall we?

So first of all, I have class for the first two weeks, followed by two weeks of break before the start of the fall semester. There’s going to be a lot of school work in there, but once it’s over, I will definitely be relaxing and enjoying the first vacation I’ve had since December.

I stumbled upon an opportunity a few weeks ago, to coach a girls hockey team in a local tournament. Now I know nothing about this team, or my fellow coach, but I’m really excited to be able to coach a hockey game. It sounds crazy, but I’ve actually never coached an actual hockey game before. Yes, I’ve been on the ice a ton, doing goalie lessons and teaching skills, but I’ve never had to coach a game before, besides the ones I’ve coached for lacrosse. Nervous yet extremely excited is probably the best, and only, way to describe my emotions.

Now after that I’m returning to my grassroots and coaching a local hockey camp that my dad and one of his hockey friends started. This was the first camp that I ever worked as a counselor, and it was also the first place where I was honored with the title of “goalie coach”. I’ve known a lot of the kids who attend the camp for a long time, and it’s always great to see how much they’ve grown and progressed over the years. It’s been a while since I’ve been at this camp, so I’m very excited to return.

After the camp with be a lot of relaxing along with prepping for the upcoming school year. I’ll be having a lot of meetings with the pep band, making sure we’re ready to go for the season; there’s also the club hockey team, where we are going to be recruiting a ton at the club fairs; and finally, there’s GoNUxstream.

For the past two years, I’ve been commentating the Women’s Hockey Games on GoNUxstream, which is the (free!) online streaming of all of the athletic games at Northeastern. Over that time, I’ve gotten more and more involved, and I’m ready to try something new. This season I will not only be commentating the Women’s Hockey Games, but I will also be jumping in during the Volleyball Games, but more excitingly, I will also be the sideline reporter for some of the Men’s Hockey Games. This is probably what I am most nervous about, actually being on camera, making sure I know what to say, and that I’m asking the right questions to the players. I’m looking to continue branching out to more sports, so that I have a wide variety of experiences for when I graduate.

That’s what my month looks like. I’m very excited to get going, and will definitely be writing about my experiences as I go along.

Leave a Reply

