Networking with the incoming class

This summer I’m volunteering as an Orientation Mentor for the D’Amore-McKim School of Business here at Northeastern. When I first applied, I thought it would just be a good resume builder, something to show that I’m involved in the community. But now that the first session has ended, I know that the real reason I’m doing it is so that I can make a difference in their lives. 

It sounds a bit silly, but it’s true; I’m doing this so that hopefully they learn something about the University, about who they want to be, and what they want to do. It’s great to see them so bright eyed and excited about their upcoming adventure in college. It reminds me of what I looked like when I was in their shoes three years ago. I was so looking forward to getting to Boston and starting something new, and everything that happened, everything everyone said, just made the whole thing sound just that much better.

My orientation wasn’t the greatest, mainly because I was recovering from a week of intense poison ivy (by the time I got there, I was no longer contagious). But once I arrived with my mom, and got into the room where I would be staying for the next two nights, I was beyond excited. Even though the buildings were old, and the bathrooms a bit gross, everything was still brand new, something to look forward to for the next two months.

I hope that I made some sort of a difference for these kids, and I hope that they reach out and talk to me over the next year. Being a resource for them will keep me “young” and remind me of the little things in life, like how great it is to be in college.

Leave a Reply

